PCD Credit 7: OSHA-Compliant Facilities (1-2 points)



Promote safe and efficient operation of waste disposal facilities.[1]

Local Government and Industry Requirements:

Prevent or identify and correct OSHA-related operational violations and/or recommendations in all OSHA covered facilities under the control of the Local Government or Company.

Tier 1: (1 point)

●      Demonstrate a current OSHA-compliant safety plan that has been updated within the past 2 years.

●      Conduct an OSHA (or equivalent)-Level audit by a qualified auditor following the official forms, which must be completely filled out.

Qualified auditors include:

●      Federal or State OSHA inspector;

●      Insurance inspector (must have current CSP, or CIH certification);

●      Union CIH or equivalent safety official 

Full remediation of all OSHA (or equivalent) incidents reported.

Tier 2: (1 point)

●      Fulfill Tier 1 requirements 


●      Implement a Voluntary Protection Program (VPP). See OSHA Guidelines: www.osha.gov/dcsp/vpp/index.html

Potential Strategies:

●       List all OSHA violations and state of resolution for the last 5 years.

[1] “Waste disposal facility” includes transfer stations, landfills and thermal conversion facilities.


Leave a Comment

Subscribe to SWEEP Newsletter

Stay ahead of the curve by staying informed about the latest developments within the realm of solid waste management industry. Additionally, receive timely updates pertaining to our engaging webinar series.